Multiple VINT hub to switch to PC connection issue

Any hardware type questions or problems for all other Phidget devices.
danthoskin
Phidgetly
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 5:44 pm
Contact:

Multiple VINT hub to switch to PC connection issue

Postby danthoskin » Wed Dec 04, 2019 9:27 am

Hi,
I have been working on a project that requires 5 VINT hubs that I want to connect to a network switch and then to the control PC. I have it set up for testing now by plugging the VINT hub into my DSL router on my network, but the final configuration will not have the router. Is it possible to plug a network switch directly into a PC, then plug my hubs into it? I'm not much of a network guy, so I'm hoping this is something simple or at least do-able.
Thanks in advance,
Dan

fraser
Engineering
Posts: 268
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Multiple VINT hub to switch to PC connection issue

Postby fraser » Wed Dec 04, 2019 10:04 am

A network switch will just make any devices plugged into it available to each other (put them on the same network). So plugging a PC and 5 (assumed) HUB5000's into the same switch would allow the PC to access each of them over the network.

Hope that answers your question!

User avatar
Patrick
Lead Developer
Posts: 3139
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 8:46 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Multiple VINT hub to switch to PC connection issue

Postby Patrick » Wed Dec 04, 2019 10:14 am

Just make sure to configure static IPs on all of the VINT hubs first.

-Patrick

danthoskin
Phidgetly
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Multiple VINT hub to switch to PC connection issue

Postby danthoskin » Wed Dec 04, 2019 10:20 am

Excellent, thanks guys.
Dan


Return to “All Other Phidgets”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests