Environmental Sensors

Need a new type of sensor? Interfaced a sensor that you want to tell everyone about?
szahran
Phidgetsian
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: Environmental Sensors

Postby szahran » Tue Sep 10, 2013 12:20 am

Thank you very much black_unicorn.

Yes I understand. But in some case the sensor value was 542 = 2.71V, which is not within the ranges posted here http://vegetronix.com/Products/VH400/VH400-Piecewise-Curve.phtml , how will the value be interpreted in that case? can we ignore the upper bound of the last range? I got that value on a very wet soil.

Thanks,
szahran

black_unicorn
Phidget Mastermind
Posts: 127
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Environmental Sensors

Postby black_unicorn » Tue Sep 10, 2013 6:02 am

To what measurement mark is burying your sensor?
Upper to 50?

szahran wrote:Thank you very much black_unicorn.

Yes I understand. But in some case the sensor value was 542 = 2.71V, which is not within the ranges posted here http://vegetronix.com/Products/VH400/VH400-Piecewise-Curve.phtml , how will the value be interpreted in that case? can we ignore the upper bound of the last range? I got that value on a very wet soil.

Thanks,
szahran

szahran
Phidgetsian
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: Environmental Sensors

Postby szahran » Wed Sep 11, 2013 6:21 am

The sensor was completely berried into the soil. Is that wrong?

black_unicorn
Phidget Mastermind
Posts: 127
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Environmental Sensors

Postby black_unicorn » Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:15 am

Can you tell me what you tring to do?
Can you tell me about your project?
Thanks!
szahran wrote:The sensor was completely berried into the soil. Is that wrong?

szahran
Phidgetsian
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: Environmental Sensors

Postby szahran » Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:55 am

Okay, what I'm trying to do is to determine the right amount of water I can give to the plant, based on the how moist is the soil of the plant.

So I need to construct a scale to say something like, if the plant is too dry give X ml of water to the plant, and if it is dry give (X + Y) ml and so on. So I need about 10 levels of moist that I will give a correlated amount of water to the plant.

Thanks,
szahran

black_unicorn
Phidget Mastermind
Posts: 127
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Environmental Sensors

Postby black_unicorn » Wed Sep 11, 2013 10:04 am

Do you speak spanish?

szahran wrote:Okay, what I'm trying to do is to determine the right amount of water I can give to the plant, based on the how moist is the soil of the plant.

So I need to construct a scale to say something like, if the plant is too dry give X ml of water to the plant, and if it is dry give (X + Y) ml and so on. So I need about 10 levels of moist that I will give a correlated amount of water to the plant.

Thanks,
szahran

szahran
Phidgetsian
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: Environmental Sensors

Postby szahran » Wed Sep 11, 2013 10:29 am

black_unicorn wrote:Do you speak spanish?


No I don't :(, was what I said not clear enough?

Thanks,
szahran

black_unicorn
Phidget Mastermind
Posts: 127
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Environmental Sensors

Postby black_unicorn » Wed Sep 11, 2013 10:50 am

Don't worry.
The thing is, if you want read VWC you need plant the sensor until 50 mark.
¿Why? For example, sandy soil will hold less water than soil with lots of organic material. It doesn't make sense to do VWC measurements beyond the holding capacity of the soil. Typical holding capacities are around 50% VWC.
For more information you should learn about soil VWC for each kind of soil.
And remember: http://www.vegetronix.com/TechInfo/How- ... -VWC.phtml
For more information about VH400 soil moisture sensor probe contact Mr. Tim at Vegetronix.

szahran wrote:
black_unicorn wrote:Do you speak spanish?


No I don't :(, was what I said not clear enough?

Thanks,
szahran

szahran
Phidgetsian
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: Environmental Sensors

Postby szahran » Thu Sep 12, 2013 1:27 am

black_unicorn wrote:Don't worry.
The thing is, if you want read VWC you need plant the sensor until 50 mark.
¿Why? For example, sandy soil will hold less water than soil with lots of organic material. It doesn't make sense to do VWC measurements beyond the holding capacity of the soil. Typical holding capacities are around 50% VWC.
For more information you should learn about soil VWC for each kind of soil.
And remember: http://www.vegetronix.com/TechInfo/How- ... -VWC.phtml
For more information about VH400 soil moisture sensor probe contact Mr. Tim at Vegetronix.


Hi,

According to the link you posted it says "Fill each of the yogurt containers with enough soil such that the VH400 soil moisture sensor probe will be able to be completely inserted".

So the "completely inserted" is why I was burring the sensor completely to get the values? but you are suggesting me to bury it up to mm as in general the soil can't hold more 50%, right?

Thank you very much for your prompt responses,
szahran

black_unicorn
Phidget Mastermind
Posts: 127
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Environmental Sensors

Postby black_unicorn » Fri Sep 13, 2013 5:12 am

Ok.
The probe must be fully inserted, or burried. For VWC values of 50% to 100% use a linear approximation and this it all.
But remember, typical holding capacities are around 50% VWC.

szahran wrote:
black_unicorn wrote:Don't worry.
The thing is, if you want read VWC you need plant the sensor until 50 mark.
¿Why? For example, sandy soil will hold less water than soil with lots of organic material. It doesn't make sense to do VWC measurements beyond the holding capacity of the soil. Typical holding capacities are around 50% VWC.
For more information you should learn about soil VWC for each kind of soil.
And remember: http://www.vegetronix.com/TechInfo/How- ... -VWC.phtml
For more information about VH400 soil moisture sensor probe contact Mr. Tim at Vegetronix.


Hi,

According to the link you posted it says "Fill each of the yogurt containers with enough soil such that the VH400 soil moisture sensor probe will be able to be completely inserted".

So the "completely inserted" is why I was burring the sensor completely to get the values? but you are suggesting me to bury it up to mm as in general the soil can't hold more 50%, right?

Thank you very much for your prompt responses,
szahran


Return to “Sensors”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest