1055 can't send raw data

Supporting Visual Studio on Windows
torinnguyen
Fresh meat
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 10:47 am
Contact:

Re: 1055 can't send raw data

Postby torinnguyen » Sat Oct 27, 2012 10:56 am

Sorry to wake up this thread, but I am having the exact same problem.

I am using Win7 Pro 64-bit, latest Phidget version 2.1.8 Build Oct 15 2012 14:27:23
I am testing using the built-in UI for PhidgetIR that comes with the library.

I let PhidgetIR detects the code, and make sure I am not placing the remote control too near.
The Phidget is able to learn the code alright.

If I press the Re-transmit button, it works fine.
But, Send RAW Data button doesn't work.
For what it worth, I am writing a program to send both learned code & raw code, and it has the same problem: only learned code works, raw data doesn't work.

Here is a screenshot of what's going on
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/11295402/Screenshots/phidgetIR.png

Any advise on this?

User avatar
burley
Human-Cyborg Relations
Posts: 441
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 2:37 pm
Location: Calgary
Contact:

Re: 1055 can't send raw data

Postby burley » Mon Oct 29, 2012 8:31 am

Have you modified the send raw button in the code? I should point out that by default it doesn't do what you think it does. All it does in the default program is send a pre-entered array of data. If you want it to actually send something useful you will need to modify it to do so.
Brian Burley
403-282-7335 ext. 6003
support@phidgets.com

torinnguyen
Fresh meat
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 10:47 am
Contact:

Re: 1055 can't send raw data

Postby torinnguyen » Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:46 am

Ah crap! That is totally not obvious at all. The default UI is super misleading :(

Anyway, got it to work with custom code.

User avatar
Patrick
Lead Developer
Posts: 3158
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 8:46 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: 1055 can't send raw data

Postby Patrick » Mon Oct 29, 2012 11:07 am

Agreed, this is misleading. I'm changing the example to re-transmit received raw data.

-Patrick

torinnguyen
Fresh meat
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 10:47 am
Contact:

Re: 1055 can't send raw data

Postby torinnguyen » Fri Nov 02, 2012 8:39 am

Just a suggestion for re-transmitting data button. It should re-transmit only those shown in the raw data box.

The use case is: I want to press the button for a few times, then manually delete the noise & repeated code to get 1 clean packet & retransmit just that.

User avatar
Patrick
Lead Developer
Posts: 3158
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 8:46 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: 1055 can't send raw data

Postby Patrick » Fri Nov 02, 2012 9:16 am

The retransmit button will re-transmit the last block of raw data received - everything after a LONG break. This also includes retransmitting a long-hold button, such as holding down volume up for several seconds, showing in code how you should break up such a transmission at the gaps.

-Patrick


Return to “C#.NET”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests